Blues Guitar Sounds

I currently play in a Blues trio using the one PS1.

My guitar runs through a line 6 POD 2.0 running into channel 3. My vocals and the bass go into 1 & 2.

I have been using the POD for more than 6 years now and always found it to have the best sounds for any guitar style.

Wanted to know peoples thoughts on a great tone for blues.

I have something but not 100% happy with the tone. Im looking for something between SRV and Gary Moore. a clean sound with a bit of crunch/bassy tone.

I know the PS1 back to front as well as the POD but i dont think ive found the right combination as yet.

Any thoughts???

Kirby,

American don’t know anything about Blues guitar tone.

You’re better off consulting your brothers and sisters in Oz.

Just kidding – about the Americans I mean.

I think you will get a lot of advice here – stay tuned.

And thanks for checking in here.

Ken

quote:
Originally posted by Kirby From Sydney:
I have something but not 100% happy with the tone. Im looking for something between SRV and Gary Moore. a clean sound with a bit of crunch/bassy tone.

Hi Kirby,
Does your guitar sound "zippy"? Like a "bee in a bottle"?

Because the POD is going into Channel 3 you will not have EQ Presets to tame the output of the POD. What I mean by this is that the signal coming out of the POD 2.0 was intended to go into a guitar amp. The signal going through the guitar amp will eventually find its way to a 12" (usually) speaker. A 12" speaker is not a full range speaker and will attenuate the high frequencies produced by the POD.

The Bose L1 is a full range speaker and therefore reproduces the entire range of the POD - including the zippy high frequency stuff.

You may wish to try a speaker emulator device such as the "Red Box" or other similar gadget. It is intended to emulate a 12" speaker.

I hope this is helpful.

FWIW, the PODxt comes with a feature to select the output "Destination" including the Bose PS1.

...Mark

Hi Mark,

Neat diagnosis.