Frequency response curve

Hello,

My name is Yael and I am a researcher at the Ben-Gurion Uni of the Negev.

I am looking for advice regarding the most suitable speaker for a field study I am conducting, focusing on the effect of noise pollution on songbirds in natural habitats.

I was wondering if the S1 can fit my purposes but couldn't find the specs of the frequency response curve.
It is important that the speaker will have a flat frequency response between 100Hz-10KHz (as flat as possible, most important range: 100Hz-5KHz).
Any other Bose speaker that fits this description? (must be portable - i.e. lightweight, battery, etc.)

I know it is hard to find for such 'flat' portable speakers but maybe someone here could help me with this?
Thanks a lot in advance

Yael

Hi Yael,

Looks like an interesting project you are working on.

The S1 actually changes it's eq output based on the orientation of the speaker.

In the tilt back position it is pretty flat from about 200 Hz up. You could make some minor adjustment with the low tone control.

Check out this link and the videos for more information. The third video shows frequency response curves momentarily on screen. If you are quick with the pause button you can check them out.

https://www.bosepro.community/...le/topic/bose-s1-pro

O..

Thanks for the quick and helpful answer!

It might be a very silly question, I am not an acoustician, but if it provides such a neat flat curve when tilted, wouldn't it be the same when mounted on a tripod from, say, 10 or 20 m?
Is there a way to change the built-in eq so it would have the same setting as if it is tilted when it is in fact mounted on a tripod? I guess not but I would be happy to make sure.

Thanks again,
Yael

@YL_birds posted:

Thanks for the quick and helpful answer!

It might be a very silly question, I am not an acoustician, but if it provides such a neat flat curve when tilted, wouldn't it be the same when mounted on a tripod from, say, 10 or 20 m?