Vocal feed back

Hi
I have an L1 model 1S with a B1 bass and tone match. Ive been using it for my own gigs with great success since December 2012. Last weekend I set up for a duo, 1 guitar and two mics,. The main singer does not have a very powerful voice and in order to make her heard I upped the volume. However this caused quite a bit of feed back and I was limited in the actual volume I could use.
Has anybody else experienced this and can anyone please assist me.
Many thanks

Hi DoubleH,

I’m sorry to hear that you were having difficulty with feedback.

Microphone Technique
Microphone technique is very important when it comes to avoiding feedback. To get the best gain-before-feedback you want to sing directly into the microphone using close-mic’ing technique. That is, with lips just barely brushing the windscreen. The ToneMatch Presets for vocal microphones are designed to work with that microphone technique.

As you move farther away from the microphone you lose tone and in this case more importantly, you lose gain-before-feedback. That is: As you move away from the microphone you increase the chance of feedback.

If you have a vocalist who tends to shy away from the microphone, turning up the gain on the T1® to compensate will cause feedback. You’ve already experienced this.

Number of Microphones
The other factor here. It sounds like you’ve gone from one microphone (for your solo gigs) to two microphones for the duo. The more open microphones you have connected to a system the lower your gain-before-feedback. That is: more microphones can mean more feedback. You can reduce the feedback if you are using close-microphone technique.

Here are some notes about Microphone Feedback in the wiki.

Gain Staging